Tuesday, March 31, 2015

Final Mad Max: Fury Road trailer is off the hizzle

"Off the hizzle" is still a hip saying right? Not that we really give a shit about such things, especially when it comes to our opinion of movies etc. and what other people think of them.

And we really don't care if YOU don't think this final trailer for George Miller's Mad Max: Fury Road is off the hizzle, because we think it is. And that's all that matters.

Sunday, March 29, 2015

David Duchovny drops hints on The X-Files's return

It's no secret The X-Files is coming back to the small screen for a limited engagement, much like 24 did a year ago. To me, that's great news. I loved the first five seasons of the sci-fi/horror series, and sporadically checked back with the show now and again. The first movie was awesome. The less said about the second the better.

The fact pretty much everyone involved with the show during it's decade-long run is back gives me hope that we're in for something special. Fans know very little at this point, other than the intent is to wrap up the mythology, which was somewhat unravelled when the series ended in the early 2000s.

Friday, March 27, 2015

Review: Nightcrawler

Having faced a barrage of B-grade genre movies for so many years, this Basement critic decided to take a breather and step into more . . . refined . . . entertainment. The first dance was with Gone Girl. The second is all about one sociopath's pursuit of the American dream. It's called Nightcrawler. How's it? Stick with me!

When Lou Bloom, a driven man desperate for work, muscles into the world of L.A. crime journalism,  he blurs the line between observer and participant.

Tuesday, March 17, 2015

Review: Gone Girl

David Fincher is the man. He's hands down my favourite director. Not all of his movies are winners, but he's yet to make a bad film. I like him best in the realm of the gritty crime thriller, preferably with serial killers. So how does his adaptation of Gillian Flynn's missing wife bestseller Gone Girl compare to the likes of Se7en or Zodiac? Stick with me!

With his wife's disappearance having become the focus of an intense media circus, a man sees the spotlight turned on him when it's suspected he might not be innocent.

Saturday, March 14, 2015

Review: Escapee

Escapee is one of those flicks we pimped here in The Basement and immediately lost track of. Not because of a lack of interest on our part, but because it's one of those hundreds of movies that disappeared into the cinematic ether every year. You know, the kind of movie we hunt down and pass judgment on. So was Escapee worth the effort to find it? Stick with me!

Abby (Christine Evangelista) becomes the target of a mentally disturbed man (Dominic Purcell) after he sees her at a mental hospital.

Friday, March 13, 2015

Q&A: Julia Lehman

Director Rene Perez’s The Burning Dead (formerly Volcano Zombies), starring action superstar Danny Trejo (Machete), is now on digital and VOD from Uncork’d Entertainment. The DVD sears home video a month later, April 7th.  Written and produced by Jeff Miller and Jason Ancona, The Burning Dead pits a horde of lava-filled zombies against a sheriff charged with the plight to rescue an estranged family from a volcano eruption. Danny Trejo plays Night Wolf, a Native American warrior who knows way too much about the curse that unearthed the coffin dodgers. We spoke to Trejo’s co-star Julia Lehman about working on one of this year’s funnest horror flicks.

Tuesday, March 10, 2015

Because it's awesome, the new Daredevil trailer

It's already been established that I'm pumped for the new Daredevil series Netflix will debut a month from now. Great teaser, groovy stills, and my favourite comic book hero. 'Nuff said.

Now we've got a full trailer for the show, and I am beyond excited to see The Man Without Fear put foot to ass on my big TV. Ready for it?

John Fallon's The Shelter heads to Cannes

We haven't talked about our bro John Fallon's debut feature film The Shelter for a long-ass time because, well, we technically took our ball and went home. But we're back, and we've got some exciting news about the flick.

You know, the one Shawn scored the music to and stars Michael Pare? Yeah, that one.

Monday, March 9, 2015

Q&A: Darcy Donovan

Hollywood hottie Darcy Donovan (Parks & Recreation, My Babysitter is a Vampire) is part of MovieMaze’s latest film, The Plumber.  Cloaked in mermaid gear, she’s a vital element of an interactive App that lets the player choose how the story unfolds. There’s been a lot of talk in the press about MovieMaze’s latest, because of Apple’s snootiness towards the film’s content (supposedly, it’s too violent and sexual for Apple!?), but it’s available on most other platforms. We spoke to Darcy about The Plumber.

Saturday, February 28, 2015

Jessica Cameron's Save Yourself teases a trailer

It's been months since we reported on scream queen Jessica Cameron's latest effort, Save Yourself. Like eight months, actually. But the horror hottie just sent a teaser trailer and some new stills from the flick our way -- right on time for Women in Horror Month.

Save Yourself tells the story of five female filmmakers en route to their big L.A. premiere. But when one of them goes missing at a rest stop, the women soon find themselves pitted against a deranged scientist hell-bent on using them for his mysterious research.