Sunday, February 7, 2016

Kevin Watt versus Dead Silence

Beware the stare of Mary Shaw
She had no children, only dolls
And if you see her in your dreams
Make sure you never ever scream…
Or she'll rip your tongue out at the seam.

Saturday, February 6, 2016

Basement Classics: The Hole and Airborne

Return with us now to those thrilling days of yesteryear as Jason and Shawn take a step back in time to a classic episode of We Came from the Basement! That's right, we'll be revisiting old episodes from the previous six seasons of our show, ones fans and us Basementites feared long gone.

This week, we return to the eve of the Mayan apocalypse and our December 2012 episode featuring reviews of The Hole and Airborne. Or, as we said way back then:

Friday, February 5, 2016

Jason versus Maggie

Arnold Schwarzenegger in a zombie movie sounds like a great idea. Because, if you know the Schwarzenegger of his heyday, then you're in for a zombie-ass kicking good time. Right! I said right?

You mean this is a drama about a father coming to terms with the fact his daughter has been bitten by a zombie, and will do everything to protect her until the turn finally happens, when he is asked to do what any father would deem unthinkable? Really? I said really?

Thursday, February 4, 2016

Mike S tweets Hirokin: The Last Samurai

After a week's absence, our Mad Twit Mike S returns to the @camethebasement account for another Thursday night tweet-a-long. And this time he's putting the 2012 indie action flick Hirokin: The Last Samurai on the digital chopping block.

Never mind the samurai is played by a white guy. These are movies, for Jebus sake, and such details are trivial.  Besides, Hirokin looks kinda . . . spacey . . . ish. I'm sure Mike S will add more later tonight.

Wednesday, February 3, 2016

Jason versus The X-Files Season 10, Ep. 2 & 3

The X-Files revival continues to truck along, drawing in big ratings -- at least by today's standards -- both in live broadcasts (that's another word for first run) and streaming. This is good news for fans, who likely want more seasons in the future, and studio executives, who want to make more money off a long-coveted franchise.

The season debuted with a return to the alien conspiracy, and promises to revisit the spaceman for the season finale. In between? We've got the monster-of-the-week shows, baby, which fans long consider the best episodes The X-Files had to offer, myself included. 

Is this still true? Stick with me!

Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Fear falls midweek

Like sands through the hourglass of time, so too falls the terror that is What Movie Wednesday!

That's right, after a week's break, The Basement's own Mad Twit returns for for another go round of horror-related tweets. And he needs your help in selecting the flick that'll land on the Twitter chopping block.

Elizabeth Banks takes on the Power Rangers

I've only caught a handful of Power Rangers episodes in my day, and that's because of the hotness that was/is Pink Ranger Amy Jo Johnson. Otherwise, it isn't my cup of tea. This from a g guy who grew up with the Toho Godzilla movies.

Hey, giant lizards are greater than big robots. Truth.

Latest Suicide Squad footage storms Instagram

There's so much social media crap out there it's hard for an analog-cog-in-the-digital-wheel guy like me to keep up with all of it, nor even make sense out of it. Snap Chat? Don't get it. Instagram? Something about pictures, right?

Well, studio marketing people sure get it. And the folks behind the upcoming Warner Bros./DC Comics release Suicide Squad are hard at work getting the flick's Worst. Heroes. Ever. message out there.

Monday, February 1, 2016

New The Witch trailer goes peek a boo

A24's The Witch is getting great reviews. Check that, stellar reviews, with some critics saying it's the best horror movie to come down the pike in years. This makes it a must see in my books.

And, truth is, Shawn and I have been invited to a screening in Vancouver next week. Whether or not we go depends on travel arrangements etc, but I sure hope one or both of us can pull it off.

First look at xXx: The Return of Xander Cage

No, this isn't a trailer for the upcoming threequel to Vin Diesel's 2002 action hit. But it is a set pic from the first day of shooting, which apparently was not all that long ago as Diesel posted the aforementioned shot to his Facebook page on the weekend.

I heard a sequel featuring Diesel was in the works, but had no idea filming was underway until this morning. That's pretty under the radar for what I'm sure is intended to be one of the bigger movies of next year.