Saturday, November 5, 2016

The Basement has moved . . . ish

After a long hiatus, and a decision to somewhat change the direction and format of the show, activity on this blog will -- at least for the time being -- cease. Sad face is sad . . .

Does this mean We Came from the Basement is dead? Narp! Instead, all activity will appear on our long-running Facebook fan page, which you can find right here.

That's right, any reviews, news or future shows will pop up as short posts on the fan page. Why? We're too shittin' busy to dedicate a lot of time and thought beyond the shits and giggles we get from doing the show etc. In order to keep things going, we need to simplify. And this is how that gets done.

Shawn has pointed out this post has already required more thought than he anticipated putting into things. Dammit, the man is right!

Thanks for sticking with us during the starts and stops of the last few years. Please continue to follow us on the Facebook page. Fans can still post whatever they like to our Facebook group page.

We're still on Twitter and emails can still be sent to basementreviews@gmail.com.

Stick with us!

Monday, October 3, 2016

Review: Kill Command

It's been a while since I watched myself a decent B-movie. A good, long while. But, when the robots vs. marines flick Kill Command -- which we previously wrote about here -- crossed my VOD screen, I jumped at the opportunity.

I mean, come on: robots vs. marines? What's not to like!?!

Saturday, August 27, 2016

Why are movies boring?

Think of this as a companion to my What's wrong with Hollywood? piece. But, for the most part, I find myself bored with movies.

Now, take into consideration that by movies, I mean new to newer movies. And yes, there are exceptions to this statement, which I admit is a bit generalized.

I have noticed, though, the list of movies I want to catch in a theatre grows smaller with each passing year, likely because everything is a reboot or remake. And movie news, which I used to be glued to on a daily basis, is now something I catch up on Saturday mornings and not feel like I've missed anything.

Sunday, August 14, 2016

Review: The Sleeper

The 80s were the heyday of the slasher film. The subgenre WAS horror, at least for the better part of that decade, with few ghost or vampire stories in sight. And for every Halloween or Friday the 13th sequel, there were a dozen cheaply made knockoffs to cash in on the better flicks' popularity.

Justin Russell's The Sleeper is a tribute to those 80s slasher films. Made in 2012 on a $30,000 budget, he's lovingly crafted a period piece set in 1981, where a crazed killer sets his sights -- in this case his hammer -- on the hot chicks living in a small town sorority house.

Saturday, August 13, 2016

What's wrong with Hollywood?

This isn't going to be another rant against the Hollywood studio system. Shawn and I did enough of that during our six seasons on the air. But, as a box-office watcher, I've noticed something has gone wrong this summer. Although I'm sure studio suites are paying attention, I thought I'd go ahead and state the obvious.

Summer is when the studios release their blockbusters and potential sleepers in hope of earning some serious dough. Traditionally these flicks do bring in beaucoup bank.

Sunday, July 31, 2016

Review: Star Trek Beyond

That's right, I made it to the theatre twice in one weekend. That hasn't happened since before my son was born. But the wife and I were lucky enough to snag a sitter and go see the new Trek, because we're fans and all.

Star Trek Beyond is the third in the rebooted spin-off universe, and although well received by critics and fans, it isn't exactly tearing up the box office. Why, you may ask? I know I do, especially after seeing it.

Review: Jason Bourne

Fifty-six per cent on Rotten Tomatoes. That's it. Only 56 per cent of lamestream critics liked the new Jason Bourne movie. The chief complaint among them is the latest entry in the long-running series is too much like the other films. Which critics generally loved.

I watched Jason Bourne last night, and yes, it's a lot like the previous entries in the series, which I loved. There's brilliantly staged set pieces, a couple of harrowing car chases, some brutal beat downs and a bunch of hi-tech, international espionage.

Tuesday, May 17, 2016

Top Five: Books That SHOULD be Made as Movies!


Before there were movies, there were these things called books.

Then there were movies.

Then there were movies based on books.

I think I'm safe in saying that at some point, each of us have been reading a good book, and thought, "This would be sooooooooooo cool as a movie!  Why hasn't Hollywood seen the potential for milking this book's popularity for all it's worth?!?"

Sunday, May 15, 2016

Animated Addict: "Inside Out" (2015)


Mike S hijacking The Basement for a review of a film in a genre that I'm addicted to: animated.  You might think that's odd for someone who loves horror movies the way I do.

But that's just how I roll the potatoes.

The first animated feature I'm going to review is 2015's "Inside Out" by Disney/Pixar.

So, let's get those potatoes rolling...

Thursday, April 28, 2016

TV Worth Watching and The Remake Train

Jason and Shawn are back one more time before switching to a loose schedule for the summer, and they've got something a bit different to talk about this episode. How different?

Think TV.

Yup, The Basement takes a break from movies to discuss how good television has become, with quality programs like Marvel's Daredevil and Jessica Jones, House of Cards, and Banshee drawing big talent away from the big screen. What are Basementites watching and what do they think? Stick with us!