Sunday, May 13, 2018

Micro Review: Avengers: Infinity War

I don't know what impressed me more about Avengers: Infinity War -- the fact I have to rethink my Top 10 Favourite Movies of All Time list, or Scarlet Witch's cleavage. A statement both bold and crass, but true.

Saturday, May 12, 2018

It's all bullshit anyway

Yup, it's been a long-ass time since anything's been posted on this blog.

Yup, the blurb beneath our page title says we're done . . . again.

Yup, it's me, Jason of the Jason and Shawn duo The Basement Boys, writing at We Came from the Basement.

So what's brought us to this never-say-never-again place in the storied history (like eight fucking years) of this site and podcast? Are we back with a daily dose of movie news, interviews and reviews? Is the show on The X and this site on a weekly or bi-weekly basis? Is Mike S going to tweet along to stuff on our dead and deleted Twitter account?

Nope.

Monday, November 27, 2017

Justice League - Micro Review


Hello folks!  Shawn here.  Stepping into the basement, as needed, to add to the chaos that has befallen Justice League.

While Jason and I will be forever divided by DC/Marvel - that isn't a bad thing.  Keeps it interesting.  It's the same with Star Trek/Star Wars...I can appreciate both, but have my favorites.  Subjectivity is divine!

I've loved all things Marvel.  I've loved all things DC.  Perspective is key.

Justice League does not deserve the negativity floating around about it.  People aren't seeing it, just because of the negative reviews.  I call BULLSHIT.

This movie is every bit as good as any Marvel beginning! The best part is, it can compete!  As a comic book nerd (who hates to read), how could I not lap up every second of every comic adapted movie!? 

Wanna bitch about CGI? You forget what you are watching? haha. Wanna bitch about "tones" and depth of character? - Forget what you are watching?  The foundation is set.  All anyone can ask for.

Justice League kicked ass.  If you turn your sheople oriented pretentiousness off, it will kick your ass, too. You just have to let it.

I have YEARS of my life invested in comics, cartoons etc.  Nerd? yes.  Satisfied?  Yes.  Keep an open mind and remember, these are comic books - that you don't have to read or turn the pages to! haha. Live action! Debate the fun and important stuff like:  Who would win a fist fight, Superman or Hulk?  haha.  I can't wait for what is to come.  Hope you can't either!!

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

The Animated Addict: "How to Train Your Dragon 2" (2014)


Before there was Pixar producing phenomenal computer animated movies, there was Dreamworks.

"How to Train Y our Dragon 2" isn't a bad movie.  It's not what I would consider one of Dreamwork's better pieces, but it's not a bad movie.

I really enjoyed the first one, but couldn't quite focus on this installment in the series.

The visuals are fantastic.  I really liked how they actually put thought into how the characters would look as they aged.  They look the age they're supposed to be.  Also the environmental design is amazing.  Great lighting and shading, and wonderful texturing.  A visually beautiful film.

The camera work helps to enhance the look.  A great blend of standard steady shots, with swooping angles and movements.

The voice acting was also pretty good, too.  The voices matched the personalities of the characters perfectly.  I also really liked the characters as well.  They were interesting and unique from each other- with each character having their own "moment" to shine as well.

Unfortunately, the story wasn't as engaging for me as the first film.  I liked the addition to Hiccup's backstory regarding his mother- but the rest of it was pretty much just a repeat of the original story.  It made it hard to focus on what was happening.  I even found myself comtemplating what sort of thoughts a cheesy poof might have in its bag.

In fact, I found the short film "Dawn of the Dragon Racers" in the special features more interesting story-wise.

"How to Train Your Dragon 2" would be good for a single viewing- but sad to say, not much more than that.  I'm going to have to put it in "The Bad".

Friday, September 15, 2017

Jamie Lee Curtis returns to Halloween

The Halloween franchise is a strange universe indeed, having been retconned and reimagined several times in its 39-year history.

Well, today big news hit about another huge twist in the franchise -- Jamie Lee Curtis will return in the next Halloween film . . . and she's playing Laurie Strode!!

Monday, September 11, 2017

Mike S's Top Five War Movies That Deserve a Remake


With the recent release of "Dunkirk", we've seen that war movies still have a place in cinema and that people WILL watch them.

With that in mind, here are my top five war movies that I'd like to see a remake of:

Sunday, September 10, 2017

Why It is so good

By now, many, many people have seen the big-screen adaptation of Stephen King's It. To the tune of $117 million -- the largest opening for a horror movie ever.

There are a lot of reasons for It's success (see what I did there?). It's arguably King's best-known work, and most liked. So that plays a big part. And the movie was well marketed by Warner Bros. and New Line Cinema.

Tuesday, September 5, 2017

Mike S versus Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2016)


Normally, I'd write something witty at the start of a review, and a quick synopsis of the plot.  Today however, I'm going to skip that and get to the meat of my review of 2016's "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them".

I really love the Harry Potter books (I read "The Deathly Hallows" in one sitting), and really enjoyed the movies.

Monday, August 21, 2017

Second Chances: Mulholland Drive (2001)


Sometimes we come across a movie we felt something the first time we watch, but on second viewing a few years later, we find that our opinion changes.  Movies we didn't like sometimes get a second chance to impress us.

Often, they don't... but sometimes, they do.

Sunday, August 20, 2017

Life Vs. Alien: Covenant - The Alien Showdown

There were two big alien-themed releases this year. One was the latest chapter in a much-revered franchise, the other a start-studded, science-based work of original sci-fi.

On this episode, Jason, Shawn, Amy and special guest Nathan Bosa tackle Life and Alien: Covenant, and determine which is best.