Monday, September 22, 2014

Review: Oculus

Oculus is a movie Shawn and I had a lot of anticipation for. We dug director Mike Flanagan's previous flick, Absentia, which is one of the best low-budget indie horrors in recent memory. To top things off we landed an exclusive interview with Oculus composers The Newton Brothers prior to release. Of course, we never got to catch the thing in theatres.

I finally sat down with Oculus the other night and got to answer the age-old question -- was it worth the wait? Was it? Stick with me!

Sunday, September 21, 2014

Almost Human, American Muscle and Rachel Faulkner

The Basement is back for this, its sixth season of movie reviews, news and interviews designed to pleasure your ear holes. You'll enjoy it, trust us.

First up is the sci-fi/horror flick Almost Human, writer/director Joe Begos' throwback to 80s terror. What's it about? Alien abduction, violent murders and a plot to take over the world. Is it as much fun as it sounds? Stick with us!

Friday, September 19, 2014

Kicking back Basement style

As regular readers of this site and followers of the podcast know, Season Six was supposed to kick off today. It did not. All we'll say is it's a result of a shitty situation that was beyond Shawn and I's control. We're resilient here in The Basement, and the show will go on.

However, it won't go on as Basementites have come to expect. Stick with me here.

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Bigfoot strikes in this Exists clip

Bigfoot is a hot cinematic commodity these days, especially in the realm of found-footage horror. I just checked out Bobcat Goldthwait's effort Willow Creek (read the review here) and eagerly await Eduardo Sanchez's spin on the sasquatch legend Exists.

Exists doesn't hit until next month. In the meantime, our bros over at Arrow in the Head have dug up an exclusive clip, and it's pretty slick. Check it:

Monday, September 15, 2014

Matt Damon and Paul Greengrass are Bourne again

Couldn't resist that headline. Cheesy, sure. But couldn't resist.

So yeah, Matt Damon and director Paul Greengrass, who partnered for The Bourne Supremacy and The Bourne Ultimatum, are in talks to return to the popular action franchise. This, of course, brings to mind a title from another espionage franchise -- Never Say Never Again.

Sunday, September 14, 2014

Jason versus Willow Creek

Bobcat Goldthwait isn't a name most Basementites associate with horror, so it came as quite a surprise when the former shock comedian turned his directorial interests to a found-footage movie about Bigfoot. Shakes the Clown and World's Greatest Dad, sure. But a horror movie about Bigfoot? Stick with me!

A couple interested in Sasquatch lore head into the wilderness where the infamous Patterson-Gimlin footage was shot, with terrifying results.

Friday, September 12, 2014

Holy fuck . . . John Wick!

How did this movie slip completely under my radar? And why hasn't Lionsgate been pushing the new Keanu Reeves vehicle John Wick for months? 'Cause this, this has badass hit written all over it.

It's also further proof that messing with a loner's dog is seriously, seriously stupid. And it is. Observe:

Thursday, September 11, 2014

Wrong Turn 6 star enters a State of Desolation

The Basement recently sat down with Wrong Turn 6: Last Resort starlet Sadie Katz for a one-on-one interview about that upcoming flick, among the actress's many other projects. You can hear the conversation next month on our podcast.

One of the flicks Sadie let slip about is Jim Towns' zombie apocalypse tale State of Desolation. And we've learned the movie recently wrapped production in Los Angeles.

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

A trailer and poster for The Town That Dreaded Sundown

This is, of course, a trailer and poster for the remake of The Town That Dreaded Sundown, not the 1976 original, because we'd be waaaaayyyy behind the times if that were the case.

No, this new version comes by way of producer Jason Blum (Insidious, Sinister, Paranormal Activity) and American Horror Story co-creator Ryan Murphy, which makes it required viewing in my book.

Tuesday, September 9, 2014

Interview: Sledge director Kristian Hanson

Sledge is a horror/comedy that's getting a lot of good buzz on the indie circuit. It's a spoof where the psychopathic killer not only believes he's living a movie or video game, but that he's the star of the story.

The flick hit VOD earlier this month and lands on DVD Oct. 7. The Basement took a few minutes to engage writer/director Kristian Hanson in a Q&A about the movie and how it came to be.