Saturday, April 18, 2015

Ten questions with Infernal director Bryan Coyne

The demonic kid template is dusted off again for this week’s Infernal – screening at the Arena Cinema in L.A, and On Demand – but it’s doused in a truly original, effective style. We quizzed Bryan Coyne, the said film’s helmer, on everything that goes bump in the night.

Sunday, April 12, 2015

Review: Daredevil Season 1, Episodes 1 - 6

During my Grade-12 year, my classmates voted me Grad Most Likely To Become Batman. And I was a big Batman fan. But I have a confession to make, Father. I was actually an even bigger Daredevil fan. In fact, Marvel's Daredevil is my all-time favourite comic-book character. Which means I was uber pumped when word hit that he'd get his own Netflix original series.

All 13 episodes dropped this past Friday, and yours truly has already battled his way through six. What does this hardcore fan of The Man Without Fear think thus far? Stick with me!

Thursday, April 9, 2015

Doctor Who, House of Good and Evil alum find Waldo

Actually, it's alumni from Doctor Who, House of Good and Evil, and Hillbilly Horror Show who will bring the the upcoming flick Finding Waldo to the big screen.

That's right, a bunch of very talented people with a background in sci-fi and horror are tackling a movie that sounds like it's made for kids. Wanna fight about it? Actually, it's a crazy road trip comedy.

Tuesday, April 7, 2015

Q&A: Tracey Birdsall

Actress Tracey Birdsall, currently decked out like Ellen Ripley on the set of a new science-fiction film called Robot Armageddon, offered us an update on that film, as well as some of her other upcoming projects including the rather saucy-sounding Who’s Jenna Jameson?

Sunday, April 5, 2015

Review: Tourist Trap

Along with Sleepaway Camp (review to come), producer Charles Band's Tourist Trap is one of those classic horror movies that should be on any self respecting horror fans' must-see list. The question is, once you've finally seen it, is it worth the wait? Stick with me!

A group of young friends stranded at a roadside museum are stalked by the owner of the place, who has the power to control his collection of mannequins.

Thursday, April 2, 2015

Another Poltergeist trailer hits the web

I'm gonna come right out and say it, I'm kinda jazzed for Gil Kenan's Poltergeist remake. Yeah, it's a remake, but so far everything I've seen -- from the posters to the initial preview -- feel right. And the dude directed Monster House, which is one of the most un-kid friendly kid's movies in recent memory.

And let's face it, the movie's coming out in just over a month. It exists, so let's judge it based on its own terms. We'll always have the original.

Tuesday, March 31, 2015

Final Mad Max: Fury Road trailer is off the hizzle

"Off the hizzle" is still a hip saying right? Not that we really give a shit about such things, especially when it comes to our opinion of movies etc. and what other people think of them.

And we really don't care if YOU don't think this final trailer for George Miller's Mad Max: Fury Road is off the hizzle, because we think it is. And that's all that matters.

Sunday, March 29, 2015

David Duchovny drops hints on The X-Files's return

It's no secret The X-Files is coming back to the small screen for a limited engagement, much like 24 did a year ago. To me, that's great news. I loved the first five seasons of the sci-fi/horror series, and sporadically checked back with the show now and again. The first movie was awesome. The less said about the second the better.

The fact pretty much everyone involved with the show during it's decade-long run is back gives me hope that we're in for something special. Fans know very little at this point, other than the intent is to wrap up the mythology, which was somewhat unravelled when the series ended in the early 2000s.

Friday, March 27, 2015

Review: Nightcrawler

Having faced a barrage of B-grade genre movies for so many years, this Basement critic decided to take a breather and step into more . . . refined . . . entertainment. The first dance was with Gone Girl. The second is all about one sociopath's pursuit of the American dream. It's called Nightcrawler. How's it? Stick with me!

When Lou Bloom, a driven man desperate for work, muscles into the world of L.A. crime journalism,  he blurs the line between observer and participant.

Tuesday, March 17, 2015

Review: Gone Girl

David Fincher is the man. He's hands down my favourite director. Not all of his movies are winners, but he's yet to make a bad film. I like him best in the realm of the gritty crime thriller, preferably with serial killers. So how does his adaptation of Gillian Flynn's missing wife bestseller Gone Girl compare to the likes of Se7en or Zodiac? Stick with me!

With his wife's disappearance having become the focus of an intense media circus, a man sees the spotlight turned on him when it's suspected he might not be innocent.