Saturday, November 5, 2016

The Basement has moved . . . ish

After a long hiatus, and a decision to somewhat change the direction and format of the show, activity on this blog will -- at least for the time being -- cease. Sad face is sad . . .

Does this mean We Came from the Basement is dead? Narp! Instead, all activity will appear on our long-running Facebook fan page, which you can find right here.

That's right, any reviews, news or future shows will pop up as short posts on the fan page. Why? We're too shittin' busy to dedicate a lot of time and thought beyond the shits and giggles we get from doing the show etc. In order to keep things going, we need to simplify. And this is how that gets done.

Shawn has pointed out this post has already required more thought than he anticipated putting into things. Dammit, the man is right!

Thanks for sticking with us during the starts and stops of the last few years. Please continue to follow us on the Facebook page. Fans can still post whatever they like to our Facebook group page.

We're still on Twitter and emails can still be sent to basementreviews@gmail.com.

Stick with us!

Monday, October 3, 2016

Review: Kill Command

It's been a while since I watched myself a decent B-movie. A good, long while. But, when the robots vs. marines flick Kill Command -- which we previously wrote about here -- crossed my VOD screen, I jumped at the opportunity.

I mean, come on: robots vs. marines? What's not to like!?!

Saturday, August 27, 2016

Why are movies boring?

Think of this as a companion to my What's wrong with Hollywood? piece. But, for the most part, I find myself bored with movies.

Now, take into consideration that by movies, I mean new to newer movies. And yes, there are exceptions to this statement, which I admit is a bit generalized.

I have noticed, though, the list of movies I want to catch in a theatre grows smaller with each passing year, likely because everything is a reboot or remake. And movie news, which I used to be glued to on a daily basis, is now something I catch up on Saturday mornings and not feel like I've missed anything.

Sunday, August 14, 2016

Review: The Sleeper

The 80s were the heyday of the slasher film. The subgenre WAS horror, at least for the better part of that decade, with few ghost or vampire stories in sight. And for every Halloween or Friday the 13th sequel, there were a dozen cheaply made knockoffs to cash in on the better flicks' popularity.

Justin Russell's The Sleeper is a tribute to those 80s slasher films. Made in 2012 on a $30,000 budget, he's lovingly crafted a period piece set in 1981, where a crazed killer sets his sights -- in this case his hammer -- on the hot chicks living in a small town sorority house.

Saturday, August 13, 2016

What's wrong with Hollywood?

This isn't going to be another rant against the Hollywood studio system. Shawn and I did enough of that during our six seasons on the air. But, as a box-office watcher, I've noticed something has gone wrong this summer. Although I'm sure studio suites are paying attention, I thought I'd go ahead and state the obvious.

Summer is when the studios release their blockbusters and potential sleepers in hope of earning some serious dough. Traditionally these flicks do bring in beaucoup bank.

Sunday, July 31, 2016

Review: Star Trek Beyond

That's right, I made it to the theatre twice in one weekend. That hasn't happened since before my son was born. But the wife and I were lucky enough to snag a sitter and go see the new Trek, because we're fans and all.

Star Trek Beyond is the third in the rebooted spin-off universe, and although well received by critics and fans, it isn't exactly tearing up the box office. Why, you may ask? I know I do, especially after seeing it.

Review: Jason Bourne

Fifty-six per cent on Rotten Tomatoes. That's it. Only 56 per cent of lamestream critics liked the new Jason Bourne movie. The chief complaint among them is the latest entry in the long-running series is too much like the other films. Which critics generally loved.

I watched Jason Bourne last night, and yes, it's a lot like the previous entries in the series, which I loved. There's brilliantly staged set pieces, a couple of harrowing car chases, some brutal beat downs and a bunch of hi-tech, international espionage.

Tuesday, May 17, 2016

Top Five: Books That SHOULD be Made as Movies!


Before there were movies, there were these things called books.

Then there were movies.

Then there were movies based on books.

I think I'm safe in saying that at some point, each of us have been reading a good book, and thought, "This would be sooooooooooo cool as a movie!  Why hasn't Hollywood seen the potential for milking this book's popularity for all it's worth?!?"

Sunday, May 15, 2016

Animated Addict: "Inside Out" (2015)


Mike S hijacking The Basement for a review of a film in a genre that I'm addicted to: animated.  You might think that's odd for someone who loves horror movies the way I do.

But that's just how I roll the potatoes.

The first animated feature I'm going to review is 2015's "Inside Out" by Disney/Pixar.

So, let's get those potatoes rolling...

Thursday, April 28, 2016

TV Worth Watching and The Remake Train

Jason and Shawn are back one more time before switching to a loose schedule for the summer, and they've got something a bit different to talk about this episode. How different?

Think TV.

Yup, The Basement takes a break from movies to discuss how good television has become, with quality programs like Marvel's Daredevil and Jessica Jones, House of Cards, and Banshee drawing big talent away from the big screen. What are Basementites watching and what do they think? Stick with us!

Saturday, April 23, 2016

Q&A: Alienated producer Princeton Holt

We've written about actor Taylor Negron's final film, Alienated, before. The flick just wrapped up a limited theatrical run and is now available for viewing on VOD via Gravitas Ventures.

The Basement recently sat down with Alienated producer, Princeton Holt, to talk about the movie, which tells the story of a married couple on the verge of an alien abduction, and his other projects.

Thursday, April 14, 2016

He Never Died and Summer Movies 2016

It's hard to believe, but the summer-movie season is almost upon us once again. In fact, it officially kicks off May 5 with the release of Captain American: Civil War. And there's a gazillion movies scheduled to come out during the three months that follow. Do you know what you want to watch this summer?

Jason, Shawn and Amy put that question to each other as they figure out to watch -- and what not to watch -- between May and September. And that conversation is just one of many the Terrible Trio log during tonight's show.

Friday, April 8, 2016

Jason versus Hush (2016)

Of all the movies Shawn and I discovered during our six years and counting in The Basement, Mike Flanagan's Absentia remains one of my favourites. And, although not as good, Oculus is still a solid entry in the horror genre. Enough so that Flanagan is one my favourite directors working in horror at the moment.

When his latest, the home-invasion thriller Hush, dropped on Netflix earlier today, I knew how my Friday night was going to be spent. Just how well spent was it? Stick with me!

Thursday, April 7, 2016

The Rogue One: A Star Wars Story teaser

Something isn't real until we in The Basement say it is, and so be it the case with the Rogue One: A Star Wars Story teaser.

Sure, it appeared online hours ago, but we're posting it now. And that makes it real.

Wednesday, April 6, 2016

A tease for the Rogue One: A Star Wars Story teaser

Yes, Basementites, the era of the teaser teaser is alive and well. Sure, teasing a teaser seems like a pointless exercise, as the teaser is supposed to tease the trailer, which teases the movie.

My head hurts.

Tuesday, April 5, 2016

Scope out the opening scene from Halloween horror flick The Harvesters

If you want to get a low-budget movie off the ground, Kickstarter and other crowdsourcing efforts seem to be the way to do it these days, especially if the budget is modest enough.

Writer/director Nick Sanford's The Harvesters raised all of it's $30,000 budget by offering unique prizes to contributors, such as joining the cast and crew for a ghost tour. That's pretty cool!

Monday, April 4, 2016

Scream queen Jessica Cameron conjures up An Ending

Not content to helm a web series and tour multiple projects on the festival circuit, scream queen Jessica Cameron has put together another feature film that is sure to entice horror fans everywhere.

Not only will she star in the flick, but she's also going to produce and co-direct along with screenwriter Josh Chiara.

Sunday, April 3, 2016

A slew of Doctor Strange set pics

Marvel doesn't know when to quit but, given their track record, why would we want them to? We don't. So there.

This fall, the latest entry in the Marvel Cinematic Universe -- Doctor Strange -- hits theatres. I was never big into the comics, but it sounds like they nailed the casting in Benedict Cumberbatch (who is so good in the BBC's Sherlock and anything else he does). And if the studio could make Guardians of the Galaxy work . . .Yeah. You know what I mean.

Friday, April 1, 2016

John Wick: Chapter Two gets a plot

Well, a plot synopsis anyway. The flick already had a plot, hopefully long before it went into production, although stranger things have happened with movies. Stranger indeed.

But the folks over at Collider have dug up what will set the titular John Wick off this time around, and fans can rest easy -- people leave his dog and car alone.

Jason versus The Sword and the Sorcerer

There was a time when sword and sorcery movies were king. An era when Conan The Barbarian was a huge hit, and everyone and their dog was trying to cash in on the fantasy/adventure craze. There were movies like The Beastmaster, Yor: The Hunter from the Future and, of course, The Sword and the Sorcerer.

Yes, the movie starring the guy who played Matt Houston.

Thursday, March 31, 2016

The Tracey Birdsall interview

Model, actress and all-around class act, Jason, Shawn and Amy are excited to welcome the beautiful and talented Tracey Birdsall to The Basement tonight.

Tracey got her start in commercials, most specifically a series of Sunkist soda ads. And she's gone on to a lucrative modelling career that's had her appear on Macy's billboard ads in New York City and countless magazine covers.

Tuesday, March 29, 2016

This summer has a case of Consumption

Ghosts, demons and cultists might not be everyone's idea of good 'ole summertime fun, but the fine folks at Wild Eye Releasing are banking that horror fans like their grue no matter the season.

That's right, first-time director Brandon Scullion's Consumption is scheduled for a DVD and Digital release this July.

Monday, March 28, 2016

Jason versus The Hallow

After weeks of checking out the latest in mainstream, comic-book entertainment, it was refreshing to go back to what The Basement was built on -- the little-seen, B-grade horror movie. And what better flick to dip the wick into than The Hallow. Not a question, a statement.

The Hallow is a 2015 Irish horror movie about a family that is forced to fight demonic creatures after moving into a remote mill house. It puts a modern spin on old Irish myths, while planting an infant child smack dab in the middle of the mayhem.

Shawn Takes On Batman V Superman Dawn of Justice



Shame on you.  You know who you are.  You’re the ones that apply your opinion, in some pretentious manner, as though what you think is going to change the world.

Structure this, story that, too much this, not enough that.

Did you forget that this was a superhero movie? Yes, you did.  It was so epic, that you forgot.
I’m not going to fan boy, on and on.

Sunday, March 27, 2016

The Conjuring 2 trailer reveals "England's Amityville"

Easter and horror movies don't seem to go together, but that didn't stop Warner Bros. from unveiling the latest trailer for The Conjuring 2 at WonderCon this weekend.

Not one who likes to be left behind, I figured it wise to post the trailer for Basement Dwellers to enjoy, especially after so many new fans showed their love on our Facebook fan page these past 24 hours. Thank you!

Jason AND Shawn versus Daredevil Season Two, the last seven episodes

I don't binge TV. It's not that I don't find shows I enjoy, but I just don't have the time. However, in the case of Daredevil Season Two, I couldn't help myself. The end of each episode compelled me to continue to the next, moving from one to the other like one of The Punisher's bullets hitting its target.

There's not much I can add to my thoughts on this season that I didn't write about in my review of the first six episodes, but that doesn't reflect the quality of the season's second half. Not by a long shot.

Friday, March 25, 2016

Jason versus Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice

Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice is supposed to launch an entire DC movie universe. Given the divisiveness of how this would-be blockbuster is being received, there's a chance Warner Bros.'s plan could be jeopardy. Probably not, but a chance.

Opinions are subjective though, and one person's hatred is another fan's gem. I wasn't pumped heading into Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice, but I wanted to like it. I'm a Batman fan, enjoyed Man of Steel, and am all about seeing classic characters brought to life on the big screen.

New Star Trek TV series gets a teaser

As in a teaser poster. Sorry Trekkies, the series doesn't debut until 2017. So all CBS has unleashed is a very simple teaser poster, but one that certainly says this will be a Star Trek TV series, and the first on network television since the original series back in . . . well, before I even came along.

But enough about me, here's the teaser poster:

Thursday, March 24, 2016

Hobbit star joins sci-fi flick Rogue Warrior

It's Tracey Birdsall news week here in The Basement, and strictly by coincide I assure you!

But her next sci-fi movie, Rogue Warrior: Robot Fighter, has just wrapped cinematography and the Neil Johnson directed flick gained a pretty big star for its final days of filming -- William Kircher.

Tuesday, March 22, 2016

Trailer lands for Tracey Birdsall rom-com Who's Jenna...?

Ever date anyone who looks suspiciously like a famous porn star? Me neither, but that's the premise of the upcoming romantic comedy Who's Jenna...?

And who is Jenna? She's played by actress Tracey Birdsall, who just happens to be our next guest on the radio show/podcast.

Sunday, March 20, 2016

Jason versus Daredevil Season Two: the first six episodes

This will be a short and sweet, spoiler-free roundup of the first half (ish) of Marvel and Netflix's second season of Daredevil.

It's great. 'Nuff said.

Just kidding.

Blake Lively battles a great white shark in The Shallows

I love shark movies. And by shark movies, I mean flicks like Jaws or even Deep Blue Sea. I don't mean all The Asylum or other SyFy shark movies, which have cheapened the scare factor of a very real predator. I'm talking seriously made, seriously thrilling shark movies.

Looks like the new Sony release The Shallows is attempting to take a serious stab at making sharks threatening again, an they've picked a serious star and and a high concept to do it.

Friday, March 18, 2016

Jason and Shawn versus Indigenous

The chupacabra is not Mexican food. It's actually a legendary monster rumoured to terrorize the people of Mexico and South and Central America. It sucks your blood too, so I wouldn't call it Mexican food to its face.

It also happens to be the big bad guy in Alastair Orr's new creature feature Indigenous, which Shawn and I checked out the other night before hitting the 92.5 FM airwaves on CFBX Kamloops. And our thoughts are below.

Thursday, March 17, 2016

Blood Rush, comic-book movies and the Slender Man

Jason, Shawn and Amy are back on The X for another hour of music and banter related to all things entertainment!

And what an hour it is, as the Terrible Trio tackle a movie review and a pair of subjects one wouldn't normally lump together -- Internet memes and comic-book movies.

Wednesday, March 16, 2016

Skew director returns with stripper/horror flick Peelers

I've said it once, I will say it a thousand times: the best part of this gig is the people we've met and befriended. And these people are even cooler when they make a movie about strippers.

Writer/director Seve Schelenz is THAT man. We met him back in 2011 when he submitted his first feature, Skew, to The Basement for review. And we partied with him and John Fallon at Dark Fest 2012. Now he's back with his sophomore flick Peelers, and it's a horror movie about strippers.

Tuesday, March 15, 2016

Fight breast cancer with a Killer Rack

It's been a long while since we talked about the Brooke Lewis horror/comedy Killer Rack, in which our favourite scream queen -- and regular guest on our Halloween specials -- voices a killer set of boobs.

I can't believe I just got to type that!

Monday, March 14, 2016

Jason versus The Wave

On April 7, 1934, a rock slide triggered a tsunami that destroyed a Norwegian village, killing 40 people. Believe it. And two other similar Norwegian tragedies have claimed the lives of more than 100 others.

Norwegian filmmaker Roar Uthaug (Cold Prey) has used these disasters as the basis for his latest flick, The Wave, a small-budget disaster picture that gives large-scale Hollywood blockbusters a serious run for their money. Yeah, I liked it. A lot.

Saturday, March 12, 2016

Jason versus You Are Not Alone

Found footage has been done to death, but how about the first-person thriller? That's right, a movie that places you front and centre as the eyes and ears of the main character.

Hardcore Henry is just days away from being unleashed on audiences, but a little horror flick called You Are Not Alone has been bouncing around the festival circuit for some time now, delivering first-person thrills and chills to horror fans from around the world.

Kevin Watt versus 10 Cloverfield Lane

First time director Dan Trachtenberg, John Goodman (Roseanne), John Gallagher Jr (The Newsroom) and Mary Elizabeth Winstead (Scott Pilgrim) join forces to bring us a movie that is not at all a sequel to Cloverfield.

I will start by strongly suggesting you do not read reviews for this movie. Any spoilers could ruin the journey this movie takes you through, and the trailer did an amazing job of pulling you in without really telling you anything other than the basic plotline: after getting in a car accident, a woman is held in a shelter by two men who claim the outside world is affected by a widespread chemical attack.

Silence is killer in Hush

As far as I'm concerned, director Mike Flanagan is a name to watch when it comes to genre pictures. Sure, Oculus wasn't as good as his low-budget effort Absentia, but the man's chops were still on full display. He knows suspense, and has a talent for milking every ounce of dread he can.

While we (still) await the release of Before I Wake, which seems to have been scheduled to come out forever, Flanagan has ANOTHER movie headed our way called Hush, and it will be delivered to us exclusively by Netflix.

Thursday, March 10, 2016

It's a friendly neighbourhood Spider-Man

I cared less about another cinematic incarnation of 'ole Web Head until the final few seconds of the latest trailer for Captain America: Civil War. Then I was like, all giddy and stuff. 'Cause that little kid who grew up on Spider-Man realized there's a good chance the character will finally be done right now that he's back in the hands of Mighty Marvel.

Oh yeah, by the way, there's a new trailer for Captain America: Civil War out. Wanna see it? Course you do.

Wednesday, March 9, 2016

First look at Alexandra Daddario in Baywatch

No, I haven't paid a lot of attention to the upcoming Baywatch movie before now. Yes, I am paying attention today because Dwayne Johnson posted a pic of himself and Alexandra Daddario from the flick's set. I'm a guy.  It's Alexandra Daddario. Sue me.

But yes, there is a Baywatch movie coming out next summer that riffs on the uber popular 1990s lifeguard TV series. And it does star Dwayne Johnson as Mitch Bucchanon, who some guy named David Hasselhoff portrayed on the show.

Tuesday, March 8, 2016

Suzanne Cappelletti versus Damien Season 1, Ep. 1

I had no idea this show was happening until I was channel surfing last night and decided, against my better judgment (Rosemary's Baby anyone?) to give it a watch. Im not sure where I stand yet, but these are my observations.

There were some things I liked. The score was great, I was rattling windows. Barbara Hershey is a big plus for me, she is great in everything she's in. I also liked seeing cuts from the original movie, but after I lost count how many there were, it started to feel like filler. With all of the shots from the original it makes me wonder how much of the budget went toward paying for them. The location shots made it visually appealing as well.

Satan also has a favourite day of the week -- What Movie Wednesday

I'm not going to lie to you. It's getting harder and harder to come up with catchy headline's for Mike S's ever popular What Movie Wednesday Twitter event. But damn, it's just too cool a thing to give up. Headlines, I will keep writing thee!

By now, you know the name and the drill, so let's reveal this week's candidates to put on the chopping block:

Monday, March 7, 2016

Alien: is it horror, sci-fi or both?

Contributor Suzanne Cappelletti returns to The Basement with a cinematic dilemma of sorts, one that movie fans and genre geeks have agonized over for years: just what kind of a movie is Alien?

Don't know what I'm talking about? Read on:

Beware the Slenderman heads to HBO

We live in interesting times when an Internet creation can compel someone to commit a crime and become the focus of a documentary. But, the same can be said -- I'd assume anyway -- of any popular medium.

Comics were blamed for corrupting the morals of children, music has caused listeners to worship the devil, and now an online phenomenon known as Slenderman is the focus of a new documentary film.

Friday, March 4, 2016

The Basement wants you!

That's right, We Came from the Basement is looking for a few good men and women who want to contribute an article, review, editorial or news item a week to our little corner of the Interwebs.

See how direct that was? No beating around the bush, subterfuge or misdirection. We want people who enjoy movies, who enjoy talking about movies AND who enjoy writing about movies to come write for us.

Witness Keanu Reeves' firearm training for John Wick 2

Any self-respecting movie fan knows how hardcore Keanu Reeves is when it comes to training for an action movie. The man became a black belt for The Matrix movies, and worked hard for months to get ready for the awesome fights scenes in the first John Wick.

The below video popped up online showing Reeves doing firearm training for his upcoming John Wick: Chapter 2, and it is nothing short of jaw dropping. This guy needs to become my BFF. Seriously.

Thursday, March 3, 2016

Matthew Sconce, Altar and Top 5 Martial Arts Fights

So it begins, the seventh season of We Came from the Basement, and the first on 92.5 FM CFBX Kamloops in almost three years.

And tonight's episode is a good one, especially if you dig horror movies and enjoy insight into the filmmaking process.

The Ghostbusters trailer will slime you

Not a lot of time for the jibber jabber this morning, but Amy brought the unveiling of the new Ghostbusters trailer to my attention, and I had to give it a watch and post about it.

For one, my burning hatred for the project is gone. Two, I laughed some while watching it. Three, I appreciate they acknowledge the original movie happened. So this is another sequel/reboot as opposed to a remake.